My home is my temple

After a two-year absence, my journey from Singapore to New Delhi and then to Lucknow finally brought me back home to my beloved house. However, upon opening the gate, something felt amiss. The light, the ambiance, everything seemed off. It was clear that my home had been neglected in my absence, crying out for the love and care that only I could provide.

The kitchen was in disarray, with leftover wrappers strewn about and utensils hanging out of place. My belongings were misplaced, with toiletries missing and a strange smell lingering in the bedroom. The wall clocks had stopped ticking, the AC was only partially turned on, and the cupboards were overflowing with clothing.

To top it off, there was a power cut upon my return, leaving me fumbling in the dark for basic necessities. The inverter failed to work, the gas burner leaked, and the tap in the bathroom began to malfunction. Even the courtyard awning was broken, adding to the list of things needing attention.

As I spend the following days putting my house back in order, I am reminded of the importance of being vigilant with caretakers and ensuring that loved ones take responsibility in my absence. While some may view these issues as minor inconveniences, for me, every corner of my home deserves care and attention. It is our duty to nurture and cherish our surroundings, as they too have feelings and deserve our love and respect.

I am determined to bring back the warmth and vibrancy that once filled my home, to turn it back into the sanctuary that I had left behind. As I roll up my sleeves and dive into the task at hand, I vow to never again neglect the place that holds so many memories and comforts for me. And as I work diligently to restore my home to its former glory, I am filled with a renewed sense of gratitude and appreciation for the haven that it has always been for me.

Leave a comment